Who's right?

• 27 Replies

Janeymiddlewife

Who's right?
« on: November 06, 2008, 20:39 »
As it's obvious to all that i am a newbie clearing my plot i have been the recipient of much (sometimes conflicting) advice. :lol:
As much of it is a mixture of grasses, including couch - I have been strongly advised to do the following
A) Dig it all over and bury the turfs then rake it out in the spring (Bill 78 years young, my lovely row rep)
B) Fork it all out and compost it (which is what I've been doing slowly)
 Ken
C) Get a rotavator on it (not keen on that - where are the seeds going?) - margaret
D) Glycosphate it and cover it with plastic until the spring - Chris
E) Sod the glycosphate just use plastic - Fred
F) Strim then dig -  can't remember their name!

All lovely well meaning people, who go away shaking their heads as i carry on - perhaps i'll have to try 2 or 3 different approaches as an experiment - anyway what are your opinions please!??

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
Who's right?
« Reply #1 on: November 06, 2008, 20:44 »
Errr all of the above  :lol:  no seriously depends on your weeds if its just turf then A) bury the turfs at the bottom of your trench as you dig upside down.  :D
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

vegmandan

Who's right?
« Reply #2 on: November 06, 2008, 21:15 »
I would Glyphosate it first if you have much couch grass then do what Richy says once the couch has died.

Trouble is, Glyphosate only works properly when stuffs growing so It may not work well at this time of year when the grass is pretty dormant. :cry:

SnooziSuzi

• Facebook
Who's right?
« Reply #3 on: November 06, 2008, 21:46 »
...and wet, don't forget that the instructions say to do it on a dry day, and I'm not sure we'll have many of those between now and springtime  :(