Calling all chilli experts - can anyone help please

• 14 Replies

willnbirdie

• Experienced Member
« on: October 06, 2008, 09:39 »
Hi

We have grown chillies for the first time this year, Cayenne (hot) it says on the packet.  There are loads of them but just taking a long time to ripen.

Anyway they have started to ripen picked one nearly red and another green - waited for them to ripen completely - wanted to use them.

Cut it up and tried it - no heat whatsoever - none, nada, zilch.

Does anyone know why?  I know they are not meant to be the hottest ones you can grow but no heat at all I just don't get it.

Could it be the lack of sun - I know I am grabbing at straws - does anyone have any ideas?

Any suggestions for next year a good hot chilli that grows reasonably easily?

cheers

willnbirdie

compostqueen

« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2008, 09:56 »
I'm no expert but the individual chillies can vary from one pod to another
so don't despair  :D  I've grown cayenne before and they were fine, not the hottest though as you say

I've grown a very hot one this year and it's ripening in the greenhouse. Some on the plot, in a cobbled up frame were going black, so I put them in a grow house (plastic zip up job) and I hope they're going to ripen  :(   They are incendiary, only tried one unripe one  :shock:  It's called Lemon Drop and it's 9 out of 10 on the chilli Richter scale  :shock:  The plants are smothered and if they all ripen I will be very happy. I fear though that once dried they will be even hotter  :shock:  Once ripen they reckon they taste distinctly lemony.  Hope so  :D

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2008, 09:58 »
You are right about lemon drop being prolific!!!  I've got loads on my plants, but still green, wish they'd hurry up!!!!

Yabba

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2008, 10:00 »
I've got lemon drop for next year :D

How big do the plants get ( width / height ) ?

¥

compostqueen