Can anyone explain what wind burn is?

• 9 Replies

nuts-in-may

« on: September 16, 2008, 08:54 »
This is my first year's growing and my French beans are extremely ugly, the leaves are covered in brown patches and badly curled. It seems to still deliver beans but about a third of those are patchy, brown and curly too.  It's more badly affected at the tops of the vines than the bottom.  

I asked someone more experienced and he seemed pretty sure it was wind burn.  Certainly most of the plants were planted during the June gales, but the others weren't as they went in over 3 sessions and they're all affected to some degree.

So, I can't find anything that really explains what wind burn is online nor in my books.  Do plants only get it when they're young and planted out in windy weather or can fully grown vines get it too?  Does it spread to unaffected plants?  Is it a disease?  Is it a fungus?  Should I burn the plants after they've finished cropping?

Thanks

Cleo

• Experienced Member
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2008, 09:39 »
A bitter dry wind can sometimes cause leaf dessication ( wind burn ).

It is cosmetic.
It is an environmental factor and not a disease
You do not need to burn the plants after harvest.

If a plant is severely affected the yield will be less due to stress.

Next year try and plant in a more sheltered spot or encourage a natural wind break.

nuts-in-may

« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2008, 08:10 »
Thanks Cleo

Cleo

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: September 18, 2008, 09:51 »
No problem :-)

Trillium

« Reply #4 on: September 18, 2008, 15:20 »