Making Raised Beds for Veg growing

• 7 Replies

Matt Whalley

« on: September 06, 2008, 11:39 »
I'm new to this veg growing game but for a first go in the second half of the growing season I've done pretty well with carrots, spring onionsm tomatoes and loads of salad leaves.  I'm a bit limited for gorwing space and so I'm going to create some raised beds to more than double the space I have to grow in.  

I was going to use tanalised timber deck joists (for there weather resistant properties) to create the "walls" but the thought has just crossed my mind as to whether that's safe.  Will whatever they treat the boards with leech into the soil and contaminate the veggies I will grow in there, thus making them unsafe to eat ??  I really don't know now if this is such a good idea.  Can any one give me an idea if this has been done before or if in fact there is something that would do the job of building the structure without the potential harmful effects ??  I've also considered sleepers but there thickness means I will loose quite a bit of growing space and I'm not sure if there is the same contamination issue with them.

Any help greatly appreciated

Confused of Kingswinford   :?
"Do you expect me to weed Mr Blofeld?"

"No Mr Bond, I expect you to Hoe !"

Matt Whalley

« Reply #1 on: September 06, 2008, 11:59 »
I think I may have answered my own question with a little further research, apparently the cheicals they use to "tanalise" timber - or also if it called pressure treated timber - include compounds of arsenic, chromium and copper.  Back to the drawing board.

http://files.recycleworks.co.uk/files/Wood%20preservatives.pdf

this is the piece I have been reading, makes for some enlightened thinking re the decking I was going to do !! :shock:

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2008, 13:14 »