New Plot - What Weed Killer?

• 21 Replies

Mc-llotment

« on: August 29, 2008, 11:42 »
Morning all, Ive been reading the numerous pages on this site and it is full of brilliant info and personal tales!!! However, I'm new to the allotment game and ive just taken the keys to my plot which is in need of a little TLC shall we say. Ive been advised to use weedkiller (Round-Up Pro-biactive) to suppress the weeds then rotavate once they are dead?
Q1 - Is this the way forward?
Q2 - Will i get any use out of the plot this year or shall i concentrate on preping the soil for the spring?

After all you guys are the experts!! Thank you in advance for any info!
Andy Mc

orfy

• Experienced Member
« Reply #1 on: August 29, 2008, 13:18 »
To tell you the truth.

The best weed killer is non!

But dependant on how bad it it then it may not be viable.
I forked my full plot over and removed by hand. (With assistance)
I haven't used any on my plot.

Others do use round up but even so a Rotavator can cause problems. If you can do it without then it is better.

lucywil

• http://ourallotments.blogspot.com/
« Reply #2 on: August 29, 2008, 13:43 »
same here, the only chemicals we use are slug pellets, but if this is the route you want to take then round up (or Glyphosate) seems to be the one most people go for.

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
« Reply #3 on: August 29, 2008, 13:43 »
Hi and welcome to the forums Mc-llotment  :D

Depends on your view point about weedkillers, I have no worries about using weedkiller, personally I'd go with what you have said spray leave for about 14 days you will see the weeds start to die by then & then rotovate.

You could get in overwintering onions and garlic this year also you can sow cauliflower now for next spring.

Make sure you keep on top of the weeds as they will come back, you can hoe around the plants you have in and spray off the rest again especially if we have a mild autumn.