Wormaries

• 5 Replies

GoodLifeRich81

Wormaries
« on: August 25, 2008, 18:50 »
Hello everyone. This is my first time on here, so apologies if this topic has been discussed over and over again.
I have a wormary, and have been draining about 2 litres of fluid from it every 3 weeks or so. Is this normal, and should it smell so terrible?
Please help me- I'm an allotment novice.

Kate and her Ducks

Wormaries
« Reply #1 on: August 25, 2008, 19:05 »
Yes it is normal to drain the fluid (it is great liquid fertilizer) but mine doesn't smell terrible, not great by any stretch of the imagination but not terrible (but then again, my sense of smell ain't fab :oops: ). I did have a problem with drainage once and it all turned into a rancid goop and that was revolting but if functioning well its not so bad and the fully composted stuff does not smell bad at all.
Be like a duck. Calm on the surface but always paddling like the dickens underneath.

SalJ1980

Wormaries
« Reply #2 on: August 25, 2008, 21:59 »
I've had mine going for about a month, it doesn't smell bad at all, just like 'clean' compost really (like digging in the garden) so it must be alright! I have noticed recently that it's quite damp - certainly wetter than when I started it - it is homemade so maybe I didn't put enough drainage holes in the bottom? There's barely any liquid draining from it, but there's no puddles in the bottom either - all the 'extra' wet seems to be condensation. Hmmm, don't know if that's answered you're question about drainage but it shouldn't smell anyway!   :D

Oh, and aren't wormies great?!?!  :lol:
Sal

Organic...so far!

BigPaddy

• Experienced Member
Wormaries
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2008, 16:58 »
You can add lime to the wormery to sweeten the mix.
Patrick
Hull, East yorkshire

Fluff

• Experienced Member
wormery
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2008, 19:37 »
Hi