Tomato Plants - Are they poisonous?

• 12 Replies

EggBound

« on: August 18, 2008, 20:10 »
Hi Everyone
I'm new to this - the coop is arriving tomorrow and I hope to have three layers end of next week.  I'm sure I read somewhere that tomato leaves are poisonous to chickens.  I have 2 plants in the garden.  Do I need to move them out of reach, or are chickens clever enough to leave them alone?  :?

chickchick

« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2008, 21:15 »
welcome eggound, you've just the nicest, friendliest forum, i have 6 chickens and about 25 tomato plants and they havent touched them!! not sure about whether they are poisonous, but someone on here will reply soon im sure.
good luck with the chickens, its brillant, ive had 3 chickens for 4 weeks and added 3 more about 10 days ago!
which type are you going to go for?

Kate and her Ducks

« Reply #2 on: August 18, 2008, 21:23 »
I also think that tomatoe leaves are poisonous. Same family as potatoes which are poisonous however my ducks really don't go for either (or the poisonous rhubarb leaves). Think they are probably smarter than we give them credit for :lol:
Be like a duck. Calm on the surface but always paddling like the dickens underneath.

EggBound

Tomato plants - are they poisonous?
« Reply #3 on: August 18, 2008, 21:41 »
Thanks for that.  I was a bit worried where I was going to put them.  Local supplier has Black Maran hybrids, Sussex Stars, Daisie Bells, Blue Bells and Rhode Stars.  I have no idea which would be best - any advice would be welcomed.  Fences only about 5 feet high and not sure how the neighbours would take to stray chickens!   :D

chickchick

« Reply #4 on: August 18, 2008, 21:45 »
i have a blue belle,(ruby) and shes my favourite, shes smart, elegant, beautiful and nosey and shes also the best layer so far and the quickest to lay too. i have 6 different types and i must say they are all lovely, but uby has the edge!

weatherwax

« Reply #5 on: August 19, 2008, 08:03 »