As a complete newbie what basic equipment do I need?

• 13 Replies

debih

• Experienced Member
« on: August 12, 2008, 21:55 »
I am just about to start on my (long awaited) allotment journey and have absolutely nothing!   I can borrow from my dad but he is very possesive about his gardening tools so I know that I will have to get my own.

I have not yet seen my allotment (am going tomorrow to pick the one I want) but I have been told that one half has a home made shed on it (that is the half I will probably pick as it also has a home made greenhouse).  As I live a couple of miles away from the allotment I would like to leave things in the shed so dont want to spend an absolute fortune on things as I dont know how secure the shed will be.

Can anyone give me any advice on the sort of things I should be buying to get me started.

Thanks in advance.

Debih
I always find that work gets in the way of life.

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2008, 22:14 »
Hi Debih

Different people have different opinions, but I'd start out with:

fork & spade (I have border sizes as they're smaller and easier to work with) - don't go for bargain basement price as they'll only break soon
hoe
trowel for planting
possibly also a hand fork for weeding
watering can (!)
secateurs if you're growing stuff which will need cutting or pruning in any way

Sheds really aren't secure, even on locked sites, so do continue to bear this in mind.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

SnooziSuzi

• Facebook
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2008, 22:19 »
Hi Debih,  welcome to the forums.

I'd say have a look at some car boot sales for gardening stuff, but bear in mind that that's probably where yours will end up after you've been broken into a few times.

Harsh but true  :cry: