confused about crop rotation.

• 3 Replies

andtiggertoo

• Experienced Member
« on: August 12, 2008, 18:05 »
Am a bit confused about the finer points of rotation as this is my first year of veg growing. Sorry if this is a daft question, by the way.

I only have 3 veg beds, I have grown leeks, onions and beans in one bed and broccoli and spuds in the one bed earlier this year. I only just built the third bed so still clearing the weeds.

I have ordered onions, shallots and garlic sets to be planted this autumn, I intend to put these all in bed one (when spuds are are lifted).  Does this mean that if i want to plant more onions in spring next year these can't go in either of the 2 beds I already have planted up. :oops:

Probably a bit too late to ask now, but how successful are autumn planted onions ?

Also where should I plant carrots or can they go in with anything, so long as they aren't in same place they've been in previous year.

Thanks for any advice you can offer.  :D

waddecar

• Experienced Member
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2008, 21:13 »
Its not easy to rotate by the book when you only have 3 beds.

The idea behind rotation is to grow crops together that need the same conditions and to avoid any build up of plant specific diseases/pests in a single location as a result of regularly growing the same crop  or crop family in one place.

That being said there are people who always grow onions in the same bed year after year.

With 3 beds, space to put your next crop will be the main driver. Keep records of where in the bed you grew something and just try if possible to avoid repetition. But if it comes down to a choice of repeat or not grow I would repeat.

Autumn sown onions sets have advantages over spring sown:
The ground is easier to work and warm so they get a good start
They are less susceptible to bolting
They mature earlier so you can get them out and get a late crop of dwarf beans in the same place