Help!! I'm new to this veg growing lark.....................

• 8 Replies

rachaeldreamer

I aquired my allotment late last year, and spent much of the first few months weeding and digging and digging and weeding. Now, finally, my veg are growing and soon to be eaten - yippee!!
One of my many questions is this - the soil is very clayey(?), what can I do to improve its' quality for next year? Someone suggested adding sand, but I'm not too sure?
Help please
rachaeldreamer

SnooziSuzi

• Facebook
« Reply #1 on: July 22, 2008, 20:13 »
Hi Racheal and welcome to the forums.

THe best thing you can do to open up the soil is to dig in lots of organic material ie compost / manure.

this opens up the soil and in clay soil it helps with drainage and on sandy soil it helps to retain and feed the plants.

With clay you really need to dig deep and incorporate quite a bit, even put some gravel in if it's really claggy but not too much otherwise you'll end up with a gravel bed and no soil!

Another handy trick is to build raised beds to help with drainage, this would be done in addition to adding the compost etc.

Try not to walk on the soil particularly when wet because it'll just clag together and will end up really compacted.

Good Luck!
Su

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
« Reply #2 on: July 22, 2008, 20:23 »
Hi Rachael welcome to the forums  :D  

Some good advice from Suzi cant really add much, except try a dressing of lime it will help the clay break up but don't put it where your growing your spuds next year.
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

rachaeldreamer

« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2008, 20:38 »
Thanks Su and Rich for the advice.
Yep, will try the compost route - covered the plot with manure early this year, but it seemed to encourage shed loads of weeds - perhaps the horses had eaten too many seeds!! LOL!!
Gonna cover the earth with carpet to discourage the weeds this Winter!