Newbie buiding a hen house

• 14 Replies

Dazbarns

« on: July 03, 2008, 23:56 »
Hi,
another newbie here!

i'm planning on getting 4 ex-batt hens soon but i've got to build their house first.
could someone please give me some advice on the height needed for perches, etc.

i've got about 10 by 15 feet to play with for house and run, what size house should i build and how high should the house and run be.

thanks
dazbarns
 :D

jack russell

« Reply #1 on: July 04, 2008, 01:29 »
That is a decent size area daz it may pay you to buy a decent second hand shed and convert it to suit there is no hard and fast rule on the height of the perches, in my sheds the chooks can walk easily standing upright under the perches,  to give an indication of the height of mine. My nest boxes are at the same height as the higher perch which is approx 6" (150mm)  above the other.  A nice 10' x 8' shed will be big enough for you to expand your chook collection at a later date  :D  :wink: giving a decent size run.

You could make your own from scratch but would be cheaper as above unless you get the wood for free :D
http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q230/jack-russell_2007/CIMG1386.jpg[/img]http://i137.photobucket.com/albums/q230/jack-russell_2007/roostertop-1.jpg[/img]

not organic    but still a nice bloke

MrTurner

« Reply #2 on: July 04, 2008, 12:28 »
I was looking at what to get for a house.  Second hand sheds seem to be so cheap on e-bay.  Will prob get one of those, fit a few shelves for perches and go from there.  Wasn't going to worry about nest boxes as it sounds as though ex-batts (we'll get 3-4 of those) lay anywhere anyway.

For a run, a few stakes and some assorted wood with chicken wire should cover it?

jack russell

« Reply #3 on: July 04, 2008, 15:40 »
something i come across in a skip was an off cut of fence capping the rounded over type is ideal for perches  :wink:

Poolfield2

« Reply #4 on: July 04, 2008, 19:56 »