New to the forum

• 7 Replies

HLT

New to the forum
« on: July 03, 2008, 12:23 »
I've only recently come across this website and have been following the forum for a couple of weeks - hope you don't mind me butting in and asking for some advice!  

I'm quite new to chicken-keeping (since March) - I have 3 chickens of different breeds (Redco, Black Rock and a Light Sussex) and have been thoroughly enjoying the experience, they're such fun and me and my two boys just love them to bits!  We were watching the Hugh Fernley-whatsisname programme recently and my 9 year old was so upset and begged me to rescue every single battery hen in the world!!  :)  So I made enquiries and have arranged to pick up 3 ex-batteries at the end of the month.  But now I'm starting to have doubts and after reading some of the threads am beginning to think maybe I should reconsider.  

How will my girls react to the ex-batteries - they're quite big (especially the Light Sussex) and I'm worried the poor newbies will be bullied.  I know I have to keep them separate to start with - for how long?  My husband is in the process of building a bigger run, so I can keep the one we have now (rabbit-run type) for the ex-batteries but what should they sleep in - would a cardboard box turned on its side be ok?  My 3 girls get on so well and I'm worried that introducing 3 more would upset the balance - what if they don't get on?  :cry:

Would be grateful for any advice.

Vember

New to the forum
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2008, 13:42 »
Real Sorry I have no experience with mixing ex-bats but just wanted to say Welcome to the Hen House.

Someone with more experience will be along shortly and they'll answer your question but as far as I know if you do the introductions gradually and keep them apart but able to see one an other then in time you should be ok to mix :)

mtoyne

• Experienced Member
New to the forum
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2008, 13:58 »