Chilli Plant - advice needed - please explain!

• 17 Replies

michelleh

« on: June 30, 2008, 21:14 »
Hi Everyone,

Forgive my ignorance, this is my first year growing anything!!

As i was too late to sow from seed, I bought a chilli plant from my local nursery a few weeks ago.  It is about 35cm at present, is staked with a cane and in a 7 inch pot in my garden.  It has just started to show some yellow coloured buds but is looking a little droopy!!!

I have been reading websites including the bbc gardening one which says:
"When plants are 30cm tall, pinch the tops to make new branches.
Give high potash feed when first flowers show."

Could someone explain this to me please.  How do i pinch the tops?  What does this mean?  What is a high potash feed? Can i get it in Wilkos or similar?  Should i feed it now or when the buds open?

Thank you in advance for your advice, I know you lot know everything!

daveinbracknell

« Reply #1 on: June 30, 2008, 21:24 »
Hi Michelle,

I also grew plug plants this year from Thompson and Morgan, I have not pinched out my plants and they are very bushy and about 2ft tall, I have also read on here not to pinch out the bushes.

I feed my Chillis with the same tomato feed as I do my tom's, it is a NPK fertiliser (Just check out a typical organic tomato feed) it will do.

Droopy could be a number of things, over watering, not enough watering, natural behaviour, could you post a picture?

Yellow coloured buds, did it flower? I had these after my chilli had flowered but not polinated, it was just dropping off, has your chilli flowered?

Finally what kind of chilli is it?

Dave

agapanthus

« Reply #2 on: June 30, 2008, 21:24 »
It is a bit late to sow seeds now. It sounds as if it needs putting in a much larger pot. Some people take the tops out and some don't. I do when I remember but normally when the plant is a lot small. They also need feeding with a high potash feed (tomato feed is good) about once a week.:)

gobs