Windy Weather

• 4 Replies

Tinbasher

• Experienced Member
Windy Weather
« on: June 25, 2008, 10:54 »
How has everyone coped with the March winds we now get in June?  I thought the Bank Holiday in May was bad enough - it snapped about 4 sunflowers that were just starting to come up nicely, say about a foot high, overturned a cold frame and broke 6 tomato plants that I had nurtured from indoor sowings from March and did various other damage.  The other day (sunday), with more plants put outside and getting to a height, it was even worse.  24 French beans have been shredded, most of them snapped (or at least kinked badly) at ground level, 9 runner beans on a Munty Frame have been shredded, 2 of them broken low down, all remaining sunflowers have been damaged, tomatoes outside have had leaves stripped off them, fruit has been stripped off bushes, especially currants.  The list is endless.

It's my first year with an allotment on open ground.  All the stuff in my garden (walled on 3 sides) has fared much better, having had some protection by being enclosed, but on the allotment the only things that seem to have withstood the winds are the potatoes - low growing, tough stems, earthed up to give some support.  The onions seem alive still, though all the foliage has been laid flat.  Everything else, more tender and fragile has been decimated.  I've made a vow that next year, no tender plants will be going on the plot.  I'll keep all that for the garden, and the only things that I'll put on the allotment are potatoes and leeks.  Brassicas may be ok I've thought, being low and tough, and I have 2 dozen winter and savoy cabbage still in pots to go out in a week or two.  I'm glad I haven't put them out yet.  It all seems a waste of land though not to try loads of varieties of veg, and I know that by next Feb/March, I'll have changed my mind and be hopeful to have allsorts on the plot.  The garden at home isn't big enough either to fit in everything that I feel needs more prot