Feeding the soil

• 4 Replies

willnbirdie

• Experienced Member
Feeding the soil
« on: June 11, 2008, 19:47 »
Hi All

As we are new to all of this we are not sure how best to treat the soil.  We are aiming to rotate crops as much as possible, we have had our delivery of horse manure, currently rotting nicely away, ready for digging in when the autumn comes.

We also have been adding growmore when some plants are going in the ground.  

I know balance of nutrients is essential - is there anything else that we should be feeding the soil with?  

How do you rate green manure (think that's what it's called), the stuff you grow and when ready dig in - does it helps with keeping weeds down?

Cheers

willnbirdie

Caretaker

• Experienced Member
Feeding the soil
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2008, 20:31 »
I am fairly new to allotment five years now, I have grown green manure for the last two years, when the last crop in a section is finished say late September / October, I dig it over and broadcast the seed over it give it a watering and thats it till early spring, the frost kills most of it, then dig it in.
I just get a packet of six different variety's, clover, buck wheat to name two.
I have stopped getting farm yard manure, as something in it attacked my legs.
I do use comfree (spell wrong) plant as I grow lots of that at the bottom of the plot.
I suppose it all depends on the soil you have in the first place but green manure works for me.
I forgot to add, I use chicken pellets when planting and as a feed.
Do what ever works for you and what you can get hold off or try different things.
Ask what others use on your plot as well.
All the best.
Reg
I'm lost without my SatNav.

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Feeding the soil
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2008, 20:35 »
Whatever else you do, do NOT sow root crops in freshly manured soil.