im going to call about a allotment tomorrow

• 9 Replies

new_2_veg

« on: June 03, 2008, 19:49 »
hi all

im just going to make a call and see what the score is and see how many people are on the waiting lists.

im still not sure i want to make the big step as yet but i was just wondering what things i should be looking at/for and what i should be asking?

as my dad has never been around i have and do most things for myself  and i just like the reasurence

many thanks

nathan
2 allotments, long standing back problem, am i mad?

kezlou

« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2008, 20:09 »
Well if its anything like the waiting lists in Middlesbrough you'll be damn lucky to

a) get a plot quick

b) ask advice or get to secret handshakes to get you one quicker.

I am currently a complete and utter novice with growing veg / fruit or allotmenteering but the people on this are brilliant for any advice you may need. SO don't worry you'll be fine!

:D
Who needs a guard-dog when you can have cats for guards!

franmeerkat

« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2008, 20:32 »
Hi Nathan - good for you  :D Sorry your dad hasn't been around for you but sounds like you're doing fine.
Might be worth asking: how long is the waiting list? Can I put in for a shared allotment? (I put in for a shared allotment and got one within three months as someone else further up the waiting list had also requested a share). What are the rules about sheds and greenhouses? (Some sites don't allow them because of vandalism.)
Good luck and keep us posted!

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2008, 21:49 »
Your initial question probably should be how long in time the lists are, rather than how many people are on it/them.

Some other random thoughts, in addition to fran's suggestions.  If you don't already know, find out how many sites there are which you'd consider; ask whether you can be on more than one list at a time.