re Newbie to vegetable growing

• 7 Replies

dadshelper

« on: June 01, 2008, 08:47 »
Hello all

I am just starting out on growing my own veg (taking up the reins where Dad left off).  I am going to be building 4 raised beds ( each 4' by 8') they are all South facing.  It will be on an area that is presently lawned.  I intend to turn the lawn over then incorporate some farmyard manure.  I will then fill the beds with a multi purpose compost.

My questions are

1.  What do you think I could plant that would be able to be harvested this year.
2.  Would it be OK to plant carrots or would the manure be an issue
3.  Could you recommend a good book to help me choose a scheme as I am aware that certain vegetables grow better if they are with other complementary vegetables

Any assistance or guidance will be very appreciated

woodburner

« Reply #1 on: June 01, 2008, 09:20 »
1there have been a couple of threads on this recently: thread
another thread
2 traditional wisdom says no (never done it myself)
3 one of my books has quite a nice table can't remember which one though
 :oops:  I'll check later, but I'm pretty sure it's either Bob Flowerdew's no-work gardening or HDRA's organic gardening.

Before you buy any wood, (actually you could still use it for compost bays :) ) have you considered lazy beds?
I demand the right to buy seed of varieties that are not "distinct, uniform and stable".

dadshelper

« Reply #2 on: June 01, 2008, 09:30 »
Hello and thank you for the reply.  Thank you for the link.  I hadnt thought about a lazy bed (didnt know what one was) I just typed raised bed into the internet as I had heard of one of those.  However the garden is sloped and the slope is running West to East and so I thought that a raised bed would be a bit easier and tidier.  Also the groud is quite clayey and where I am putting the bed there is a hedge of laurel so I thought it would be dried out.