New to allotments - new here too - poorly spuds?

• 10 Replies

willnbirdie

• Experienced Member
« on: May 22, 2008, 17:28 »
Hi

Have taken over an allotment this year and have worked hard to get the plot ready.

We have 2 problems I was wondering if anyone can advise or help?

Potatoes - we have yellowing leaves - not all plants just some - we have a book and it seems to be pointing to Mosaic Virus - does anyone know if this can be treated, what the consequences are and if you can eat the potatoes that do grown?  I have also read that leaves can yellow during drought it has been very dry but we have watered well.

Peas/Mangetout/Broadbeans - we have been attacked by the pea and bean weevil (u-shaped bites out of the leaves) can anything be done to get rid of these?

Thanks for reading any advice or help would be appreciated.

willnbirdie

LivvyW

• Experienced Member
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2008, 21:24 »
I'm not experienced enough to answer your questions, just wanted to say hello and that i'm sure someone will be along to answer your query.

Also you might try the search facility.
Liv.

shaun

« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2008, 21:37 »
hello there are you sure your spuds aint got a bit of frost bite,some folks had frost early this week,a picture would help no end,
feed the soil not the plants
organicish
you learn gardening by making mistakes

willnbirdie

• Experienced Member
Poorly potatoes?
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2008, 10:30 »
Hi

Thanks for reading and the replies - have not got a piccie at the mo won't be able to get one for a few days but it does look very mcuh like this image I have found on the net

The leaves are still soft and healthy looking (just as I believe they should be) other than this yellowing.  I gave the pots a really good watering yesterday and we'll see what happens over the next couple of days.