Where to start...

• 6 Replies

greenster

Where to start...
« on: May 21, 2008, 10:10 »
Hey all, I've been thinking about getting an allotment for the last few months but have now started thinking I might have run out of time to get anything grown in time for the end of summer.

As a complete beginner there seems to be a lot to learn about growing decent veg and tbh I am a bit overwhelmed with it.

I was hoping to grow the following but don't have a clue as to best times for starting, best condition for them to grow and whether or not they will grow at certain times of the year.

Assuming I get my lot by June 8th and I've got the soil sorted, is it possible to grow the following...

Carrots
Onion
Potatoes
Cabbage

Also, if I get a half plot from the council, does that mean I share the other half or that the plot is just smaller?

Do most allotments have communal compost?

I'm on the west coast of Scotland in case you need to know.

Any help appreciated.

gobs

Where to start...
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2008, 10:21 »
You could put your location in your profile, that's I'm assuming a nice mild climate area, hopefully, so you probably get away with most of them if they go in as soon as you get the plot and that's the beginning of June.

Half plot is a smaller plot, com. manure is not too common here, don't know about Scotland.

There is a month by month guide on the home page and seed packets, catalogues should help you with maturing and planting times, these will differ by variety too, cabbages you can grow all year round.
"Words... I know exactly what words I'm wanting to say, but somehow or other they is always getting squiff-squiddled around." R Dahl

nothinghasdiedyet

• Experienced Member
    • My Blog
Where to start...
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2008, 10:33 »
I am relatively new to all this as well (in my 2nd year) but beginning of June isn't to late at all.