More Beef Tomato Questions

• 48 Replies

TheChilliMan

• Experienced Member
« on: May 20, 2008, 18:43 »
Yes, Im good with chillies. But this is my first year with the beef tomatoes. So I thought I'd reasure myslef by asking a few questions :)

1. Is it ok to put them outside now?
I as this because they are growing too fast. When I put them in the grow bag a few weeks back they were less than half the size of my little mini green house, now I cant shut the blooming lid. So I canned the open.

Do they reallly need to be staked?
I put some cannes in the grow bag and tied them to the plants, but they look fine with out it, aside from that they have outgrown it by inches, the plants must be about 1 and a half foot tall by now and one is growing in a weird direction.

A small bud?
There is a small bud on the top with what looks like yellow leaves inside, maybe a flower?

Thanks for reading and I look forward to some answers :)

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: More Beef Tomato Questions
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2008, 19:36 »
Quote from: "TheChilliMan"

1. Is it ok to put them outside now?
I as this because they are growing too fast. When I put them in the grow bag a few weeks back they were less than half the size of my little mini green house, now I cant shut the blooming lid. So I canned the open.

No! Anyone on our site with toms outside has lot the lost in the last few days. Way too cold.

Do they reallly need to be staked?
I put some cannes in the grow bag and tied them to the plants, but they look fine with out it, aside from that they have outgrown it by inches, the plants must be about 1 and a half foot tall by now and one is growing in a weird direction.

Yes - don't forget outside, you've also got the breeze & hopefully they will grow even bigger

A small bud?