Spoling the Girls

• 14 Replies

Slatz

Spoling the Girls
« on: May 16, 2008, 08:53 »
OK, They love mealworms, I can get them to run anywhere for a handful.

They don't like corn  :( What have I done to upset them?

Nats

Spoling the Girls
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2008, 09:33 »
I don't know, I'm very new to chicken-keeping but I've read that chickens have their individual likes and dislikes when it comes to food...

Let's wait for someone more experienced to answer!

Mine get incredibly excited about corn - almost singing and dancing - but they have no interest in slugs/snails!!

poultrygeist

Spoling the Girls
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2008, 11:18 »
I presume it's a bit like offering someone jam sandwiches and then tempting them with chocolate cake.

Which would you hold out for ??

Have you tried withholding the mealworms for 2 or 3 days then seeing if they'll eat the corn ?

Rob

Aunt Sally

• Administrator
  • Everyone's Aunty
Spoling the Girls
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2008, 14:11 »
Quite so Rob !  

Chooks are like children.  They won't eat their bread and butter if they think you'll give them a bag of crisps instead :wink:

Fire2920

Spoling the Girls
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2008, 14:22 »
Aye ive noticed the same thing, they learn to wait for treats and leave there corn. They go back to the corn and even the layers pellets after a while without treats  :wink:

Animal psychologists say they are as intelligent as a 3 year old child in that respect  :wink:   The will resist good food if they think something they like better will be offered later.

Bird brained but far from stupid  :wink:
??? I'd give my right arm to be ambidextrous... ???

poultrygeist

Spoling the Girls
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2008, 16:24 »
We try to vary the time we give any treats, which is usually just corn.