Hello, I'm very new to all of this!

• 18 Replies

RuthG

« on: May 14, 2008, 20:31 »
Hi all! As it says in my title, I'm really new to this. I'm going to choose my plot on saturday, and apparently they are huge, about an 8th of an acre!

Anyway, I'm hoping to start work on it straight away, so depending on how much clearing I need to do, what is best to plant out at the moment? I'll probably clear part of the plot, then plant, then clear some more, and so on!

Is it strange to be excited by it?  :lol:

nobby

• Experienced Member
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2008, 20:35 »
start with salad stuf it cums up quick so you dont lose hart then stick to stuf you like
have fun  :D

richyrich7

• Paper Potter
    • My home business Egg box labels and more
« Reply #2 on: May 14, 2008, 20:36 »
Hi Ruth welcome to the forums  :D

I'd start with a few spuds if you can get them you can sow salads about now beetroot etc plenty to go at really, just take your time and enjoy.
He who asks is a fool for five minutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.

RuthG

« Reply #3 on: May 14, 2008, 20:37 »
Thanks nobby!

I can't wait to get started  :lol:

RuthG

« Reply #4 on: May 14, 2008, 20:40 »
Thanks rich!

I'm a complete and utter novice at this, so I'm going to ask a really dim question, please don't laugh at me!

To grow spuds, do you just plant a potatoe? :oops:

compostqueen

« Reply #5 on: May 14, 2008, 22:56 »
you can but folks generally prefer to buy proper seed potatoes which are guaranteed to be free of viruses. You get them from Tesco or Wilko as well as the local garden centre or mail order.  I notice Tesco and Wilko sell small bags of several varieties.  

The mail order suppliers might have sold out by now though, eg Fothergills, Marshalls, Tuckers, Alan Romans, Dobies, Suttons.  If you have a local Dobbies garden centre they might still have them

noshed

« Reply #6 on: May 14, 2008, 23:10 »
Hi Ruth