chillie help needed

• 15 Replies

Little Miss Muffet

• calnetalk
chillie help needed
« on: April 14, 2008, 15:11 »
i started off with loads of chilies but every few days they have been dieing off .they just shrivel and die.

they started inside the house then when it was a little warmer they went in the green house but we had a couple of frosts and lost quite a few so now moved back in the house.

they get watered and i feed them baby bio.

is there anything special i should be doing?
its my first year at chillies

gregmcalister

• Experienced Member
chillie help needed
« Reply #1 on: April 14, 2008, 15:17 »
I'm quite new to growing chillies as well but I would say keep the temperature warm and constant and don't worry about feeding them until they start to flower.  Once they get a bit bigger, transplant them into bigger pots and keep going until they are in their final positions. Once they flower, feed them with a tomato feed, increasing the frequency as the fruit begins to grow.  The key thing is keeping them warm but don't overdo it and cook them as I did last year!

mtoyne

• Experienced Member
chillie help needed
« Reply #2 on: April 14, 2008, 16:18 »
This is only my second year of growing chillies but yours are looking good so far. I started mine off under propagator and they are now on a sunny window sill. Maybe you are expecting all of the seeds to grow? You are always going to get some seedlings that arnt as strong as others. Ive tried saving every seedling in the past but this year if some arnt doing as well as others ive put them in the composter and consentrated on the stronger ones.

agapanthus

chillie help needed
« Reply #3 on: April 14, 2008, 18:15 »
You're right there greg....don't be in too much of a hurry to put them in a cool greenhouse....they will catch up and give you loads of fruit. Don't forget many chillies are perenials......so bring them back in after first frost and you will be able to harvest from the same plant next year!!

gobs