tomatoes : which are your favourites?

• 22 Replies

helluvatractor

« on: March 30, 2008, 18:16 »
got loads of different varieties of tomatos on the go, (about 10 i think), but the sad fact is i've only got space for about six to grow on to full size.  i know its silly to plant so many with such little space but i can't resist buying them packets.  some of them are : moneymaker, shirley, red pear, sungold, golden sunrise, gardeners delight, black krim.

i'll probably try to grow six different ones, but i just wondered what varieties you, (more experienced) guys tend to stick to? if, that is you do stick to one type.

be really interested to know :D

fallen angel

• Experienced Member
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2008, 18:18 »
Hi this is my first year of growing and i am doing moneymaker, black cherry and yellow banana legs just because they are different and im also looking at buyimg some others too i cant help it either i like variety.

Nicky

compostqueen

« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2008, 18:21 »
I grow loads of different ones but last year when blight struck it was only the bog standard ones which survived. All me posh ones keeled over.
I like Tigerella, Ildi (lovely little orange, pear drop type) and I like the big beefy Mortgage Lifter

SkipRat

« Reply #3 on: March 30, 2008, 19:11 »
I,m growing "Shirley" this year. Last year I grew moneymaker. :)
I used to work in a helium gas factory, but I walked out, no one talks to me like that.

Ruby Red

« Reply #4 on: March 30, 2008, 19:34 »
Ive decided to grow some "Heritage" seed. They are different sizes and colours. Their names are, Christmas Grapes, Lemon Tree, Vintage Wine and Banana Cream.
Oh for those halcyon days of England long ago

CZ Silhouette

« Reply #5 on: March 30, 2008, 19:48 »
I grow a heirloom variety called blooming Butcher & am trying for the first time this year one called Paul Robeson
MY BACKS ACHING!!!!!!! AGAIN!!!!

Dabhand

« Reply #6 on: March 30, 2008, 20:10 »