Strawberries

• 7 Replies

AndyGardener

Strawberries
« on: September 03, 2024, 17:59 »
My existing small raised beds with strawberries in setup has essentially failed because the boxes become full of couch grass and horse tail roots so I am looking to start again, planting the strawberries directly in the ground. I have about 30 Elsanta runners to plant.

What's the best way to do this in peoples opinion. Do I plant in rows? If in rows, is it best to put them in a high ridge (like they do commercially). I've seen a distance of 45cm apart for plants mentioned but that seems too much to me.

Yorkie

• Global Moderator
Re: Strawberries
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2024, 19:07 »
Welcome to the forums  :)

I'm no strawberry expert, but there's a guide to growing them on the main website:
https://www.allotment-garden.org/fruit/strawberries-growing/

45cm does seem quite a bit for spacing.
I try to take one day at a time, but sometimes several days all attack me at once...

AndyRVTR

« Reply #2 on: September 14, 2024, 06:36 »
I've got all my strawberry plants 30cm apart, gives them enough room to grow without overcrowding, Ivthonk if they're too far apart, it'll give more room for weeds to grow!

Sands

« Reply #3 on: September 14, 2024, 10:33 »
How late (this year) would you transfer your runners?

New shoot

• Global Moderator
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2024, 10:59 »
How late (this year) would you transfer your runners?

I’ve got it on my to do list for the next couple of weeks. They always seem to do better if you settle them in while the soil still holds some warmth.

AndyRVTR

« Reply #5 on: September 14, 2024, 16:27 »
I've just planted all of mine last week!

Sands

« Reply #6 on: September 15, 2024, 12:47 »
Thanks both.
Will get mine sorted this month.

Joe Hicks

« Reply #7 on: September 18, 2024, 09:52 »