Beetroot planting

• 5 Replies

Marijke Jones

• Newbie on the veggie growing front
Beetroot planting
« on: August 19, 2024, 16:26 »
Dear gardeners,

The weather has been quite decent for Ireland and everything is doing great so far. As I am still fairly new in vegetable growing I was wondering can I still seed beetroot?

New shoot

• Global Moderator
Re: Beetroot planting
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2024, 21:07 »
I think you would be pushing it for beetroot, but it might be worth a go if you can cover them.  I’ve got a big insect mesh tunnel just emptied of onions and was considering turnips next.  It is getting a bit late for them as well, but I have some cheap seeds I can use.  If it stays mild, they grow fast and I am usually still picking them come the end of the year.

On my plot beetroot really do get munched going into autumn and I end up with almost nothing left to eat, whereas turnips usually get left alone.

Nobbie

« Reply #2 on: August 20, 2024, 13:12 »
I think you would be pushing it for beetroot, but it might be worth a go if you can cover them.  I’ve got a big insect mesh tunnel just emptied of onions and was considering turnips next.  It is getting a bit late for them as well, but I have some cheap seeds I can use.  If it stays mild, they grow fast and I am usually still picking them come the end of the year.

On my plot beetroot really do get munched going into autumn and I end up with almost nothing left to eat, whereas turnips usually get left alone.

Do you know what’s doing the munching? I’ve got a good crop sitting in the ground at the moment which would be a shame to lose. If it’s mice I can put down some bait boxes. I think it was them that had a crack at my sweetcorn last week before I put socks over the rest of the cobs.

New shoot

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: August 20, 2024, 13:47 »
I always find umpteen woodlice in the holes in them, but whether it is all down to them or slugs as well, I don’t know.

Not rodents though.