Using powdered egg shells

• 9 Replies

wcndave

Using powdered egg shells
« on: June 22, 2024, 19:50 »
I put egg shells in the oven to dry out, when cooking, and then use a blender to create a powder, which at the end of year i just distribute over my allotment.  Is there a better strategy or use?  For example, should i spread during the year? only certain plants? just add to compost? is there too much calcium and would I be liming too much? is there a certain area/plants that would benefit the most?  Any advice welcome, as I have a whole bucket of egg shell powder now!

wcndave

Re: Using powdered egg shells
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2024, 22:31 »
anything?

greenjay

« Reply #2 on: June 26, 2024, 07:54 »
I have no experience of dried eggshell and their use. I add mine to the compost heap where they are slow to decompose.
Spread thinly I wouldn't think they make a big difference to pH or calcium levels but don't really know. Sorry.

AndyRVTR

« Reply #3 on: June 26, 2024, 10:42 »
There's only one veg I use powdered eggs shells on, and that's my tomato/chilli's when planting them into their final stations.
I fill up my containers with the usual compost, and then mix in a good scoop of calcium powder into the hole for the plant, just gently mixing it in.
I've found that it helps prevent blossom end rot on both my toms and chilli's!

KalisDad

• Adopt. Dont Shop
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2024, 12:50 »
Can you add the to water for watering in situe to ward of BER or is it better to do when planting in final positions?
Dad of a beautiful Cyrpus rescue called Kali (she's in the picture), A dog from my favourite place, what a dream

AndyRVTR

« Reply #5 on: June 26, 2024, 14:24 »
Can you add the to water for watering in situe to ward of BER or is it better to do when planting in final positions?

Good question! Honest answer is I don't know, it certainly couldn't do any harm!

Sands

« Reply #6 on: June 26, 2024, 19:54 »