sick chicken

• 9 Replies

herbie

sick chicken
« on: February 23, 2008, 12:27 »
Hi
Can someone please give me some advice. I am an amateur at keeping chickens and have my first sick bird. She has been quite listless for a couple of days, just perched, sleeping and sucking in air. Her comb has become a bit dry and flaky. I am concerned that she is ill but have no idea what to do. I do not want to commit the final act unless it is for the best. We have 2 other seemingly healthy birds (although have had no eggs at all since Sept 07!). they have the run of the garden, fresh food and water daily and a straw bed.

please help!

poultrygeist

sick chicken
« Reply #1 on: February 23, 2008, 12:30 »
Hi Herbie,

Can't offer any specific advice but you might be better off asking in the 'Hen House' forum.

Maybe a mod can move the post ?

There's a lot of knowledgable folks on here so you should get some helpful replies soon.

Rob

herbie

sick chicken
« Reply #2 on: February 23, 2008, 12:33 »
yeah thanks

i just realised that i had posted on the wrong site. will start again.

thanks again

poultrygeist

sick chicken
« Reply #3 on: February 23, 2008, 12:56 »
Bearing in mind I know nothing because thankfully we haven't had probs with our hens yet, but the usual list of things to check for is parasites, worms, eggbound, infections.

I persume you're able to check her over physically ?

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
sick chicken
« Reply #4 on: February 23, 2008, 13:00 »
There you go Herbie, moved to the henhouse!

Perhaps when you are not so worried about your chicken, you'll pop back to the welcome forum and tell us a bit about yourself?

Could be lots of things wrong with your chook!