Growing veg in containers - what soil to choose?

• 6 Replies

JacobK

Growing veg in containers - what soil to choose?
« on: April 26, 2020, 13:10 »
Hi,

I have recently moved to a new property with a back garden that is sadly paved with concrete so have to opt for growing veg in containers (I''ll be making some about 12" x 12" x 60" / 30cm x 30cm x 150cm). Being a complete beginner, I found choosing the right growing medium for this type of gardening a bit difficult. Depending on what website I look at, there is talk of either using just compost or mix of compost & soil. This is further complicated by online garden suppliers who advertise different products as seemingly equally good for growing vegetables. Looking at websites such as Dandy's or Earth Cycle and based on the size of my containers, could someone tell me which of the products advertised there would make for a good all-round choice? Also, any idea as to how many and what size drainage holes should I drill in the bottom of my containers? Any help will be much appreciated!

Cheers,
Jacob
« Last Edit: April 26, 2020, 15:02 by JacobK »

Kleftiwallah

Re: Growing veg in containers
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2020, 13:20 »
Good afternoon JacobK,
I do not know with the present situation but,  if you approach the Manager of your favourite supermarket he may have some large flower buckets going frre!  Don't quote me though.  Cheers.  Tony.
I may be growing OLD, but I refuse to grow UP !

JacobK

Re: Growing veg in containers
« Reply #2 on: April 26, 2020, 14:02 »
Hey Kleftiwallah,