Help with my first allotment!

• 11 Replies

andy2017

Help with my first allotment!
« on: May 04, 2017, 09:40 »

Hello

I have just inherited my very first allotment - I am very new to this! I have a bit of experience in gardening but none in terms of 'grow your own'!

As you can see from the image, my allotment will require a fair bit of work and organisation before I can think about growing anything. I am looking for any advise on where to start with my space and what could work well / what will be fairly straightforward to grow etc?

My allotment is in Manchester, England.

Thanks in advance

Andy

azubah

• www.Godsaves.co.uk
Re: Help with my first allotment!
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2017, 10:26 »
Looks good. Is the poly tunnel yours?

You could put some potatoes in now, clear the weedy bits, get some cabbages started. What do you like to eat?

andy2017

« Reply #2 on: May 04, 2017, 10:39 »
Yes it's a good size plot - the poly tunnel is mine too :)

Potatoes are the main thing I'd like to grow to be honest, good to know I can do that this year.

I plan to clear it all out this weekend, get some sleepers in and tidy it up. I would like to be growing potatoes, carrots, cabbage, tomatoes, courgette, cucumber, strawberries, lettuce and onions.

The poly tunnel does have a grape tree in it which I like the idea of but I'm not sure what condition that is in.

Other than clearing out the weeds etc I'm not sure where to start!

Thank you

I Love Spuds

• Experienced Member
  • AKA Mike.
« Reply #3 on: May 04, 2017, 11:22 »
I'd suggest you get a patch cleared and turned over quick and get some spuds in.

Looks like you have a raised bed type thing on the right. You could build up the missing side and fill in with compost and use for carrots. Maybe expensive if you buy the compost, but at least there'll be no stones in it. Carrots like deep soil, free from obstructions.

Your plot looks good  :)
Remember to enjoy it, good luck.