Last season's leek crop

• 12 Replies

AlaninCarlisle

Last season's leek crop
« on: April 05, 2017, 19:42 »
They all went woody in autumn. As I'm anxious to avoid it this year, I've been racking my brains to find a possible reason why.
First thought was the weather. Well we don't do heat-waves in N Cumbria so I doubt that was the cause. Neither was it particularly dry.
Same types of Leek as normal, Musselburgh and Lyon, so no clues there
Same time of planting as normal, germinated in March and planted out in May. So no clues there

Could it be the type of feed I used? Instead of the normal Growmore, I used some surplus high nitrogen pasture fertilizer. It seems unlikely to me as a cause but everything else was as normal.

Does anyone have an opinion?

Gellideg

Re: Last season's leek crop
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2017, 20:43 »
Alin- I'm no expert with regards to veg growing,but maybe this may help.I grow Musselburgh leeks,and 5years ago,my first attempt I ended up with woody leeks similar to you,and since, I delay sowing until mid May and plant out from 3 inch pots after my broad beans in July.I use 12-11-18 ferti and eat lovely tender decent size leeks from October through to the end of March.Now I've said that,I will have trouble this year won't I?  John.

AlaninCarlisle

« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2017, 21:31 »
I'll sow some more for planting out in July and see how they perform against the earlier ones. I may be wrong, but I'm sure that in the past I've always planted out in May. Maybe I've just been lucky with a combination of early plantings and poor summers. Last summer was the best we'd had for a few years so maybe that was the issue

AlaninCarlisle

« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2017, 09:29 »
The other factor in all of this is the local Leek Shows that are invariably held in early autumn. I'm just assuming that to get to the size they do, they need much more than a two or three month growing season that a June or July planting suggests.