What on earth am i doing wrong?

• 6 Replies

PhilBarnes

What on earth am i doing wrong?
« on: September 05, 2016, 13:14 »
Hi all, i am quite new to allotments etc, took over an allotment now a while ago, 1st year, no problem things grew, it was great, the second year I planted different veg in each raised bed but unfortunately due to personal reasons was not able to tend to the allotment, so they died.  This year i cleared everything, added compost, but nothing will grow, i have watered it.  Even the potatoes are hiding!!!  I now it has been hot and dry, i have gone to the allotment and watered the raised beds, but it all looks so sad.  i do not know what else to do.

madcat

Re: What on earth am i doing wrong?
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2016, 14:46 »
Welcome aboard!  That sounds like a real cry from the heart.  :( Start with telling us where you are - you can put it in your profile information, see the white banner above.  The problems in Cumbria and Kent are quite a bit different.

Are you on a site with other people?  How are they getting along?  Is it just yours that is a problem, or are others having troubles?  For example this year onions are a real problem on our site - it makes you feel better when everyone has leek rust!
All we need to make us really happy is something to be enthusiastic about (Charles Kingsley)

AnneB

« Reply #2 on: September 05, 2016, 23:15 »
Unfortunately raised beds will need a good watering every single day unless you get a downpour.  The water drains away very quickly.  Not many plants will be able to grow in dry conditions.   

Can you give more information about your allotment and its set up and location.