Total Novice - Herb advice

• 5 Replies

shazam21

Total Novice - Herb advice
« on: August 17, 2016, 00:21 »
Had an allotment for a few months now. We've successfully grown parsley, chives and coriander from seed. These are really thriving. Will any of these continue into winter or should I take cuttings and transfer back into the potting shed over the cold months? Or should I just let them die out and go from seed again next year?

I grew basil which thrived originally, but then died. They were in baskets on the side of my shed and I worry they were too shallow and they had full exposure to the sun all day. Could this be what killed them? Would these have been better in the ground? Lesson for next year...

I also took a cutting of rosemary from my grandparents plant and this is in a pot at the moment. It hasn't died, the leaves are a lovely deep green however it hasn't grown at all. Would this be better in the ground, and will such a small plant (at present) survive winter in the UK?

Thanks

Flowertot

Re: Total Novice - Herb advice
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2016, 01:01 »
Hello Shazam and welcome. Last winter (very mild) I had parsley which kept going in a pot outside my kitchen with no special treatment at all until it flowered in Spring. The chives on my allotment have now dealt well with 2 winters - I just cut their "hair" down to say 10cm. I've never grown coriander but no doubt an expert will be along soon.

I find basil loves the sun but also lots of water. Do you think perhaps it dried out?

Rosemary is tough. If it's green and healthy, it should be fine over winter. You may think it is doing nothing but, as it is a cutting, it may just be concentrating on its roots (which you can't see).

Enjoy your herbs!

JayG

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2016, 08:53 »
Don't know where you live shazam21 (putting your location in your personal profile can be useful) but basil is very tender and certainly doesn't do well outdoors here.