Beginner allotment 'guardian'

• 4 Replies

Harrietcardiff

Beginner allotment 'guardian'
« on: July 24, 2015, 17:50 »
Hello everybody
I would so appreciate advice!
After 3 years in the waiting list I finally have an allotment ( 3 perches!)
It has been forgotten  for 2 years and covered in thistles! - I am paying someone to strim .... Then after that, I have been told a lot of different things ;
Lift what's left and compost thatand cover what remains with tarpaulin until now year???
Also
 I must cultivate a third in three months (allotment rules) - garlic cabbage anything else!

Any advice so much appreciated
Thank you in anticipation
Overwhelmed Hattie

LottyLouis

• Experienced Member
Re: Beginner allotment 'guardian'
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2015, 18:11 »
Hi Hattie and welcome to this amazing website. I am a bit of a newbie here and certainly an allotment newbie, having acquired my oh-so-precious plot on June 1st this year.
It hadn't been worked for two years and was an absolute jungle. I can post before and after pictures if anyone's interested.
I am too much of a gardening beginner to assume to offer advice - I can only tell you what we did.
The grass and old neglected stuff was taller than me and when we strimmed it back, we found a stunning jostaberry. We had no idea it was there - that's how overgrown it was.
We strimmed (and strimmed and strimmed!) and then started digging off the 'turf'. This we bundled into piles, wrapped it in black polythene and it will sit and stew until next year.
We decided to do it in ten foot chunks. As we cleared each ten foot section, we threw in some veggies that we had started off on a friend's plot.