Potato Flowers

• 8 Replies

LotuSeed

Potato Flowers
« on: May 10, 2015, 01:13 »
While doing my daily garden walk lol, I notice that some of my potatoes are getting ready to flower. I'm guessing they'll be open in the next few days. The taters were planted the last week in March. We've been having some unseasonably warm temperatures for the last couple of weeks and I'm wondering if this has spurred them on? I've been earthing up but the tops are at least 10inches high and I'm running out of vertical space for soil! The variety is Red Pontiac aka Dakota Chief and is an American one. I think, but am not certain, that it's an early main crop. All that said, my question is, is it too early for them to be flowering?? I'm a total newb at growing them so any help is greatly appreciated. 🌱
Avg Last Frost Date, April 9, Avg First Frost Date, Oct 26
Avg Growing Season, 200 days

Salmo

Re: Potato Flowers
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2015, 08:24 »
They have been planted 50 days. The very early bulking up varieties such as Rocket and Swift bulk up in 70 days. That is under English conditions with shorter days and lower temperatures. Varieties may have different names in the US

Once the flowers are open we usually expect there to be potatoes underneath. Push your fingers into the soil and have a "furtle". That is an old English word. Eat the first potatoes when some of them are about 2 inches across. You will not get a great yield but they taste wonderful.
« Last Edit: May 10, 2015, 09:16 by Salmo »

RJR_38

• www.foodinmytum.com
« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2015, 09:18 »
Or wait for the foliage to start to die back and harvest bigger potatoes! It depends on what you prefer...

Salmo

« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2015, 13:31 »
Or wait for the foliage to start to die back and harvest bigger potatoes! It depends on what you prefer...

Yes, but what is the point of growing earlies if you let them mature and lose that sweet freshly dug new potato taste.

LotuSeed