Thinking ahead to autumn digging for next year's brassicas

• 20 Replies

Snoop

Mr Snoop bought me a couple of second-hand gardening books dating from the 1950s and they've got me all inspired to improve a couple of things I'm not very good at, in particular brassicas.

My plan is to try and do what they suggest in the book: deep digging and adding well rotted muck, straw and Superphosphate (which I can't get, so I'll add P and K) at the bottom before piling the soil back on.  I know from other threads that at least some members of this forum do this and then side dress when plants go in.

I have three long beds (13 m x 1.2 m), one of which I'll use for cabbage, broccoli and caulis for use in the summer. I'll be putting sprouts and PSB in one end of the other two and the rest of one of them will be taken up with peas and broad beans, which I hope will all be finished by the time I need to plant my overwintering cabbages and caulis out. The other bed will remain unused (apart from some sprouts) till planting out time in July/August.

The summer bed seems pretty straightforward to me and I'll just do as suggested in the books. But what about the other two? I presume the peas and broad beans will benefit from the muck and P and K deep down but will the brassicas? I guess I'll need to add more, but I won't be able to deep-dig before the cabbages go in because the soil will be too loose. And what about the bed that will have nothing in it? Won't the nutrients in the muck and P and K dug in in autumn be partly lost by the time summer comes around?

I used to be able to grow decent cabbages but seem to have lost the knack (too much reliance on the rotavator, I suspect, meaning the soil is too loose and soft). I'd love to be able to get it right. So can anyone give me any advice on timings and the best approach? Thanks for any help.
« Last Edit: September 25, 2014, 08:12 by Snoop »

Kristen

• K's Garden blog
Re: Thinking ahead to autumn digging for next year's brassicas