Swede

• 11 Replies

RJR_38

• www.foodinmytum.com
Swede
« on: August 12, 2014, 13:21 »
This is my first year successfully growing swede and I have noticed that some of them are already big enough to eat. Now I thought they were more of a winter vegetable and I was hoping they would be as I have loads of veg to eat at the moment! Will they keep ok as they are or am I going to have to harvest them?

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
Re: Swede
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2014, 13:27 »
They'll sit in the ground all winter. Just harvest them as you want them.
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2014, 13:29 »
When did you sow them? perhaps try a little later next year  :unsure:

RJR_38

• www.foodinmytum.com
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2014, 13:57 »
I sowed them the last week of May - so maybe will try later next year. I'm glad they will just sit there though DD - was hoping that would be the case!

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2014, 14:39 »
That's about the right time to sow them, it's been a good growing year!  They sit through all weathers, but will last weeks at home if you bring a few home at a time if you can't get to the plot because of the weather.

Nobbie

« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2014, 14:47 »
Not sure what downsides there are to sowing earlier? Could they bolt in the first year if sown too early? I've never seen it myself. The later you sow, the less time they have to recover if they get hit by the numerous pests that seem to want to eat them - flea beetle, pigeons, caterpillars, rabbits >:(

georget

« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2014, 15:54 »