raised bed for parsnips and carrots

• 17 Replies

mushroom

« on: January 11, 2008, 18:24 »
hi,

I'm planning a raised bed for carrots and parsnips. My plot is just over 20 ft wide and 90 ft long. So the raised bed wants to be 20ft long and 6 ft wide, perpendicular to the length of the plot. I've never built one of these before  :oops: but I have a good idea what soil to use. I'm going for a predominantly sandy mix. What I don't know is:

1. what materials should I use for building the bed?
2. how high should it be to avoid carrot root fly?
3. a rough idea as to cost?

I'm googling for diagrams/how-tos, thanks in advance for any tips

DD.

• Global Moderator
  • Location: Loughborough. a/k/a Digger Dave. Prettiest Pumpkin prizewinner 2011
  • Pea God & Founder Member of The NFGG
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2008, 18:30 »
Not being a raised bed person, I'll let the experienced ones answer 1 & 3.

The answer to No. 2 is at least 24", so you may need extra protection on top of your side panels, unless you want to pay out for 2 footers!
Did it really tell you to do THAT on the packet?

WG.

« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2008, 18:36 »
You will need around 15 tonnes of extra material for a 2ft high bed

3. is therefore tricky since it depends on how much you have to buy.

pookey

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2008, 19:17 »
metal/plastic corrugated roofing sheets would probably be high enough and if youre lucky, you might find some scrap somewhere going free.

Could you not consider building normal raised beds 15-20cm high and then use some hoops and fleece to make a protective tunnel cloche cover to keep the flies out?  You would save fortunes in soil and wood.

Another idea would be to use tall fence posts and screw on pallets for the walls if you can get them free

finally, maybe try some carrot fly resistant varieties - resistafly is one scecifically developed for carrotfly.