What is causing these holes???

• 15 Replies

Woody

What is causing these holes???
« on: May 21, 2014, 01:11 »
Hi All,

I was just doing a bit of weeding on my plot yesterday and noticed that my Cauliflower seedlings are looking really poor and are hardly growing, considering they've been planted 3 weeks ago now they are way behind my neighbours on the next plot to me and mine went in first.

Here's a couple of photo's:

Any advice on what it is or how to stop it much appreciated!
They shall grow not old, as we that are left grow old. Age shall not weary them, nor the years condemn.
At the going down of the sun, and in the morning. We will remember them.

mjpalin

• MJ - also known as Michelle!
    • Starmaker - my other "hobby"
Re: What is causing these holes???
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2014, 01:18 »
Hi Woody - I'm no expert (have no room for Brassica's on my plot) - Are the plants covered? If not - could be the Cabbage White butterfly... alternatively could be flea beetle?

If it's cabbage whites you need some netting with (very) small holes... if it's flea beetle, then in my 5 years of plotting I haven't found anything to solve that problem!
Link to my first attempt at a diary: http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=113513.0

Comments & suggestions on my diary welcome here: http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=113518.0

Spend ytd: £293.44 (setting up plot 29 has been expensive) Harvest ytd: £163.93 (as at 8/8)

tosca100

• New start, new life in BG
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2014, 02:59 »
I would say flea beetle too.

Chaz1985

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2014, 07:39 »
Hi

I had the same problem with flea beetles attacking my cauliflower and calabrese. I sprayed with PY garden insect killer which is organic and it seems to have done the trick :)

http://www.vitax.co.uk/home-garden/py-spray-garden-insect-killer-concentrate/

BabbyAnn

« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2014, 08:46 »