Some help and advice please. Poorly chicken

• 3 Replies

Freyas Grandad

Some help and advice please. Poorly chicken
« on: January 02, 2014, 20:37 »
Good evening poultry folk,

I'm a novice chicken keeper, having adopted 6 girls as POL at the beginning of July 2013.

I've got 2 Hybrid Brownies (Chocolate and Fudge), 2 Ambers (Buddy and Nugget) and 2 Speckledies ( Hinge and Bracket).

They live in a nice new house with aplenty of space, 3 nest boxes, wood shavings on the floor, cleared, steam cleaned and DE'd every week.  I've built a secure run with a perspex roof for night time and when we're not around.  The run measures 8M X 3M.  During the day they have the run of an old veggie patch and occasional access to the whole garden.  They are fed on A&P layers pellets, get a large handful of corn as a treat every afternoon. 

They seem very happy and productive and have provided us within lots of entertainment.

I am now concerned about Bracket.  She started shedding some feathers about 2 weeks ago, started looking miserable and hunched and has gone right off her food.  Her poo is predominantly clear liquid with small dark grey/black solids.  She is drinking as normal.  She is growing new feathers all over (back, under wings, neck and chest).  I have been trying to tempt her with high protein treats to help her with her moult but progressively she has given up eating except grass from the lawn.  Her comb has lost colour and has shrunk.  I can find no signs of mites or lice on Bracket, on any other bird or in the coop.  Her lack of appetite is now a major concern as she has lost weight and looks weak.

During the rain yesterday she stood next to the fence in the run and was getting wet and looking bedraggled, so much so that I decided to bring her indoors to dry her out and keep her warm.  She has spent the last 24 houses in a warm, dry box with a supply of water which she continues to drink from.