Is it ok to put the contentsof a rabbit litter tray into a bean trench?

• 15 Replies

Yana

I no longer line my rabbits litter tray with newspaper and instead use the pre-formed pellets (a bit like cat litter). I had always added the newspaper and droppings to the compost bin but having changed to pellets in the litter tray wondered if I could add this to a bean trench?
I have my own cement mixer and not afraid to use it!!

mumofstig

• Global Moderator

Trillium

I always did. Rabbit poo is the only safe poo to add fresh to plants. Feed pellets are mostly vegetable matter and will quickly break down as well.

wbmkk

• Experienced Member
I am no expert ... far from it, but I always thought it was OK to use poo from herbivorous pets, such as rabbits, guinea pigs, gerbils etc as well as bigger herbivores, such as horses and cattle.

It's only poo from cats  and dogs which we can't use ... funny though, I remember one of the zoos selling lion dung a while ago (aren't lions just big cats)

Trillium

Gerbils and hamster poo is safe for immediate use as well as rabbit, but other animal poo must decompose first or its strength will kill plants close to it. If you're simply preparing a trench for next year, then you can do it since you're not planting right now. But if you want to plant now, you can't use fresh horse, cattle or pig poo.

Zoo poo, as it was called, was rotted before selling, otherwise the stench from the sacks would have been unbearable.

Dog, cat and human poo contain dangerous pathogens that can be taken up by plants, hence using them is not done.

Gardener and Rabbit

• Experienced Member
Yes, rabbit litter will be fine, we use ours on the garden.
DSCF0546.JPG

Yana

Thanks to everyone for the thoughts, but I've gone and done it again  :( I don't explain things very clearly sorry.