Apple Trees

• 27 Replies

Jaye

• Experienced Member
Apple Trees
« on: January 03, 2008, 13:09 »
Can anyone recommend a variety of apple tree they have had success with. I am guessing I will need 2 for cross-pollination. I am not looking for massive ones as thinking of small lawned area on front garden - but not tiddly minarettes either. I am probably realistically looking for an eating apple as my eldest and my hubby will eat them like they are going out of fashion - and I tend to cook dessert apples more than cooking ones anyway as they are what is in the house. My hubby has a particular fondness for russets and what he calls "proper English apples". They had a russet apple tree as a kid and is picky!

I'm thinking of some retail therapy to help my wait (understatement) for a lottie.

Jaye

Ruth Cross

• Experienced Member
    • http://www.kitchenacademy.co.uk/
Apple Trees
« Reply #1 on: January 03, 2008, 13:47 »
I'm not an expert, but I'm sure you can get self pollinating types. or If there are other apple trees within 1/4 mile you should be ok with pollination as the bugs will do the work.

cawdor2001

• Experienced Member
Apple Trees
« Reply #2 on: January 03, 2008, 14:37 »
Yes some are self fertile eg Cox but if you have other apple trees nearby they should help in pollination. If you have a look at suppliers websites or just google it then you should find info on semi dwarf root stocks (these will grow to around 8-10 feet i believe) and also which varieties are self fertile etc

CD
Used to be indecisive, now i'm not so sure...

mashauk

Apple Trees
« Reply #3 on: January 03, 2008, 14:56 »