Maniac geese

• 15 Replies

The Red Baron

• Total newbie to all this green lark but willing!
Maniac geese
« on: August 08, 2013, 15:53 »
Hi, right...the back story.
I'm pretty new to this game in that I only got my plot a month or so ago. It's lovely, busy clearing out etc etc, but.......opposite me we have three geese on site (2 female, 1 male). They pretty much get the run of the place but wow, they are some crazy birds, hissing chasing etc. is there any way to calm them/chase them off? I only want to get too and from my gate haha

snowdrops

Re: Maniac geese
« Reply #1 on: August 08, 2013, 15:54 »
Are they loose :mad: & should they be :ohmy: I would imagine they are just protecting their area after all they can be used as guard dogs/geese.
« Last Edit: August 08, 2013, 15:55 by snowdrops »
A woman's place is in her garden.

See my diary pages here
and add a comment here

GrannieAnnie

• Grandmother of the Forums
« Reply #2 on: August 08, 2013, 17:16 »
Geese shouldn't be left loose to run all over the allotments!  If they take a dislike to you, they can inflict serious injuries with those wings and beaks!

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
« Reply #3 on: August 08, 2013, 21:26 »
Do they belong to someone or are they wild?
Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens!
Bagpuss RIP 1992 - June 2012, 1 huge grass carp (RIP "Jaws" July 2001 - December 2011), 4 golden orfe, 1 goldfish and 1 fantail fish (also huge)! plus 4 Italian quail, 1 Japanese quail, 1 Rosetta quail.

themagicaltoad1

« Reply #4 on: August 08, 2013, 22:59 »
Having had a couple of geese, I'm surprised ANYTHING would be left growing if they have the run of the allotment.

LittleRedHen

• little red hens egg blog
« Reply #5 on: August 09, 2013, 08:36 »
There are several people with geese on our allotments and they are all caged in securely with biggish runs.  How inconsiderate and dangerous to let these geese run wild.  Call your allotment manager!