Growing celery! First time

• 7 Replies

Claire21

Growing celery! First time
« on: June 05, 2013, 19:24 »
This is my first year of growing celery and it is time to plant out. I have an allotment with carrot, parsnips etc and a greenhouse. I was going to plant my celery in the allotment but unsure whether to because of rumours. I have heard that they are not good near carrots and that they need to be kept well away from slugs. We havnt had any slugs lately but get quite a lot if were not careful. Could i keep my celery in individual pots in the greenhouse? If so how big would the pots need to be?

Thank you for any advice    :D

salmonking

Re: Growing celery! First time
« Reply #1 on: June 05, 2013, 20:08 »
I grew it for the first time last year......right next to my carrots! :ohmy: and..........it was fine.didnt have a problem with slugs either. :)

Trillium

« Reply #2 on: June 05, 2013, 20:13 »
As long as my celery gets a space in the garden and lots of water, it's happy no matter where it grows. Only trouble I've had is a bit from earwigs. Once the plant is hardened off it can deal with cold weather quite easily so no need to keep it in the greenhouse.

bazial

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: June 05, 2013, 20:15 »
Hi
   I have grown Self blanching Celery for 5yrs with no trouble ,never heard about the carrot thing ,Dig in plenty of well rotted horse manure or compost ,plant at 8ins spacing each way in a block ,inclose them in enviromesh  and keep them well watered (they are a bog plant) .Keep the slugs at bay with pellets .
bazial

sunshineband

• Global Moderator
  • Tallest Sunflower prizewinner 2014
    • A Little Bit of Sunshine
« Reply #4 on: June 05, 2013, 21:58 »
Just to add that a plot neighbour used empty 1l fruit juice cartons with the top and bottom cut off over her celery plants. The plants quickly grew up and out of the tops of the cartons and absolutely thrived