Blight or Hormone Damage or Nothing to Worry About?

• 33 Replies

itsallabouttheworms

Hello to all!

I've been reading and getting really valuable knowledge from everyone for the past 3 months and most of my queries have been answered without having to be sociable at all  :) So thank you~

I'm new to growing, but have been reading and studying horticulture for 6 months now, so am learning lots all the time.

Anyway, I'm growing tomatoes in a cold greenhouse (Gardener's Delight, Beefsteak, Brandywine, and Red Cherry). I moved them in pretty early (mid April) and they've been in a top soil/manure mix for just over 3 weeks. They were fine until 10 days or so ago when all the new growth started becoming twisted and now the leaves aren't opening at all - they just look like mini ram horns, but not discoloured in any way. This happened at pretty much the same time as I started noticing the trusses starting to form.

I've asked a few experienced people and I've been told it's either nothing to worry about or blight. But it looks to me (from internet searches) that it's weedkiller damage and I'm not really sure what to do if it's either of those anyway!

What do you think? What do I do in the case of either of these - apart from the "nothing to worry about" option, in which case I won't do anything!

Thanks,

PA

IMGP5898.JPG
IMGP5899.JPG
IMGP5901.JPG
« Last Edit: May 15, 2013, 13:55 by itsallabouttheworms »

Beetroot queen

Re: Blight or Hormone Damage or Nothing to Worry About?
« Reply #1 on: May 15, 2013, 13:55 »
Surely it can't be blight yet, can it, blimey potatoes and that have only just got going  :wacko:

pdblake

• Experienced Member
« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2013, 13:59 »
Doesn't look like blight. More like some kind of leaf curl. Aphids maybe?

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: May 15, 2013, 14:19 »
Either some kind of leaf curl (sometimes they curl because of large differences between day and night temperatures) or hormone damage.