Help for a newbie please... local poultry vet wanted

• 16 Replies

arty

help I am new to chicken keeping (2 weeks) I acquired 4 chickens when I found them wandering by the road ....they are obviously ex batts and a bit worse for wear  missing feathers and red bottoms and wing feathers cut very severely)....have tried to find owner but no luck so have decided to keep them. they are laying really well 4 eggs a day but I think one of them has a compacted crop .I have read here about feeding maggots or using olive oil ..i have been massaging her crop but as i am  inexperienced in the ways of chicken I feel I ought to see a vet. can anyone recommend a vet in my area Southampton that won't charge an arm and a leg for consultation...thanks in anticipation for your help ......Arty

ANHBUC

• "You looking at me?!!!"
Re: Help for a newbie please... local poultry vet wanted
« Reply #1 on: May 14, 2013, 22:23 »
Welcome to the site arty and well done in rescuing the hens.  The list we refer to is on this LINK  don't know if there is one listed near you.

You could try contacting your local RSPCA or PDSA as you have rescued them they may help.  Good luck and let us know how you get on.   ;)
Ain't Nobody Here But Us Chickens!
Bagpuss RIP 1992 - June 2012, 1 huge grass carp (RIP "Jaws" July 2001 - December 2011), 4 golden orfe, 1 goldfish and 1 fantail fish (also huge)! plus 4 Italian quail, 1 Japanese quail, 1 Rosetta quail.

arty

« Reply #2 on: May 15, 2013, 09:01 »