50mph Wind Normal?

• 5 Replies

Mark's Sussex Allotment

• 38 year old male, Married father of two
    • Mark's Sussex Allotment
50mph Wind Normal?
« on: May 10, 2013, 20:49 »
Just finished at my allotment and found my cloche broken and shed in pieces!

I'm quite new to allotmenteering, and wondered if its normal to get these 40-50mph winds during April-September or was yesterday a bit of a freak occurance?

When weeding, the best way to know if its a weed and not a valuable plant is to pull it.

If it comes out easy, it was a valuable plant !

stainesbloke

Re: 50mph Wind Normal?
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2013, 21:05 »
Feel sorry for you, disheartening to get damage like that on ur plot! Hope it doesn't cost much to fix. I was on my plot most of the day yesterday watching my plot getting a battering lol, was worried about my polytunnel but it held strong :)

Winds like that are not normal for May, they are more likely in the winter months. But we have had similar winds in the last few terrible summers so maybe our climate is changing?! Keeping fingers crossed thus summer is decent!

solway cropper

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2013, 22:39 »
Just finished at my allotment and found my cloche broken and shed in pieces!

I'm quite new to allotmenteering, and wondered if its normal to get these 40-50mph winds during April-September or was yesterday a bit of a freak occurance?

Perfectly normal if you live in west Cumbria!! 60-70mph winds we get a bit less often.

As some people were predicting, these extreme weather events are becoming more common so we'll just have to adjust our gardening techniques accordingly.

seaside

« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2013, 23:37 »