Do you keep a produce list every year

• 27 Replies

Beetroot queen

Do you keep a produce list every year
« on: May 10, 2013, 14:25 »
We did in the first few years we listed everything we took from the plot and then worked out how much it would have cost us at a leading supermarket. It was mind blowing but then we had a year off due to florences birth and then last year ....... Well that says enough.

I am going to do it again. Is anyone else this sad  :wub:

Dai

• Experienced Member
Re: Do you keep a produce list every year
« Reply #1 on: May 10, 2013, 15:11 »
The only thing im keeping a record of at the moment (because its my first year growing) is a wall planner of when and what im sowing, but yours sounds like an excellent idea! its definitely good practice to track what you would be buying and good incentive when you learn how much you save each year.

Think ill definitely steal this idea for myself, Thanks!

Willow_Warren

« Reply #2 on: May 10, 2013, 15:15 »
Er... no...  weight the odd thing but not record of overall yields (well not last year anyhow)

You've got me thinking though - my spreadsheet for this year details the following:
* Sowing Date
* Gernination Date
* Potting up date
* Planting out date
* First harvest date

might be quite easy to add some columns for yield and value!!

Having said that if I keep an account of yields and value I should keep an account of what I spend to go with it, which might be a bit scary as I'm only in my second year so still buying tools and hardware items rather than just consumables - but then I could split them... asume how none consumables will last and make an % calculation based on that?  Oh... this is becoming too complicated for something I do for fun!!!

H :)

Beetroot queen

« Reply #3 on: May 10, 2013, 15:21 »