Last frost dates

• 13 Replies

vanessa.xx

• Experienced Member
Last frost dates
« on: May 02, 2013, 16:23 »
Hi i've been looking at a few websites looking at the last frost dates, i was just wondering how accurate people thought these were? after 4 days of glorious sun  8)  i'm getting itchy to get things planted but i'm a total newbie and don't really know what i'm doing  :wub:

simonwatson

Re: Last frost dates
« Reply #1 on: May 02, 2013, 16:30 »
They are based on statistics and probability so some years the last frost will be earlier and sometimes as predicted. The idea of the last frost dates is that it's unlikely there'll be a frost after the end of the period or date, not that it's impossible.

mumofstig

• Global Moderator
« Reply #2 on: May 02, 2013, 16:41 »
we've been discussing last frost dates here - it may help  :unsure:
http://chat.allotment-garden.org/index.php?topic=104818.msg1174585#msg1174585

vanessa.xx

• Experienced Member
« Reply #3 on: May 02, 2013, 16:56 »
Thank you both i will read that now mumofstig  :)

Beetroot queen

« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2013, 09:11 »
Not sure I trust some of the sites where you can look up last frost dates. Ours says end of march.  :wacko:

Starting to get twitchy about getting stuff in now  :mellow: will be patient, will be patient, will be patient. How about tomorrow  :lol:

Salmo

« Reply #5 on: May 09, 2013, 09:49 »
I have looked at some of these frost date sites and do not consider them to be of much practical use.

Are you likely to get any more frosts in Cornwall? I would have thought probably not.

Look at your neighbours gardens and allotments. If they are generally planting out beans and courgettes then you can. Look at weather forecasts.

Beetroot queen

« Reply #6 on: May 09, 2013, 10:25 »
I will start sticking some bits in and hope this weekend. I have back ups if needed

vanessa.xx

• Experienced Member
« Reply #7 on: May 09, 2013, 12:06 »