leggy runner beans

• 4 Replies

3759allen

leggy runner beans
« on: April 16, 2013, 22:16 »
i've planted runner beans in pots, i was going to delay planting out for a couple of weeks to make sure the frosts have well and truly gone.

but they seem to be getting very leggy, a lot of stem (about a foot) with a cluster of leaf on top. is this normal, and will they be ok left growing on the poly tunnel floor for now?

will they produce a decent crop once in their final growing place?

All i've done is water them once a day while they've been on a sunny window sill, didn't think you could go far wrong with that.

thanks for any advice.

gavinjconway

• My Allotment Progress Website
Re: leggy runner beans
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2013, 22:26 »
I would bin them and start again in a couple of weeks. You were a tad early.
Now a member of the 10 Ton club.... 2013  harvested 588 Kg from 165 sq mt..

3759allen

« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2013, 22:52 »
may well do that. i'm very new to all this growing malarkey.

will they not produce beans if they are leggy then?

am i right in thinking that heat makes them leggy? if so i may struggle trying to get light with out the heat.

i also have tomatoes and cucumbers growing in a hot room, i assumed these would like heat as they need heat to fruit. but i don't want them to go leggy as well.

allotmentann

« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2013, 07:00 »
Leggy toms are not too much of a problem as you can repot them right up to their first set of leaves (in fact, they quite like it as they can put out roots from the whole length of stem).
Not sure about your cukes as they are temperamental and susceptible to damping off, if you can't keep them in pretty near perfect condition it is probably not worth it.